Welcome - from the President

Sylvia A. Marotta-Walters, PhD, ABPP

 

Hello and Welcome to the American Board of Counseling Psychology (ABCoP) Website.

 

ABCoP is one of the specialty boards comprising the American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP). To be board-certified in Counseling Psychology means that a person has successfully demonstrated the foundational and functional competencies expected of a professional psychologist with an interest in promoting human functioning across the life span using preventative, developmental, and remedial approaches.

 

If you are a psychologist interested in board certification in Counseling Psychology, please visit this website: http://www.abpp.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3317 for information about the profession.

 

To download the forms that will get you started on the process, please visit this site: http://www.abpp.org/i4a/pages/index.cfm?pageid=3364

 

Whether you are a clinician or academician, a trainer, a supervisor or an administrator, I invite you to consider board certification. Whether you are still a student, or have many years’ experience as a counseling psychologist, you are welcome to become board certified.

 

Applicants interested in having a mentor to guide you through the process of board certification can find mentors through the American Academy of Counseling Psychology (AACoP), whose members are all board-certified fellows in Counseling Psychology.  The current president of the AACoP is Arnold Spokane, Lehigh University (ars1@lehigh.edu).

 

These are the current members of the ABCoP:

 

Mary O’Leary Wiley, President-Elect, Private Practice, Altoona PA (wiley510@gmail.com); Ted Stachowiak, Past-President, Texas A & M University, (ted@scs.tamu.edu); Paul Polychronis, Secretary-Treasurer, University of Central Missouri (ppolychr@ucmo.edu); Derek Bergeron, Practice Sample Chair, Ft. Hood, TX,  (derekbphd@hotmail.com) ; Jeannette Madkins, PCR Coordinator and Pipeline Coordinator, Texas A & M University (JMadkins@scs.tamu.edu).; Anthony Kerrigan, MOC Coordinator and Communications Chair, DeBakey VAMC, Houston, (kerrigan@bcm.edu); Laura Palmer, Credentials Reviewer, Seton Hall University, (Laura.Palmer@shu.edu); Janice Lebel, Oral Exam Coordinator, MA Department of Mental Health, (jlebel@comcast.net); Adrienne Barna, Consultant to Oral Exam, (abarna@gmu.edu); Charme Davidson, MOC Liaison, Private Practice, Minneapolis, MN, (charmedavidson@earthlink.net). All would welcome answering any questions you might have about the certification process.

 

Sylvia A. Marotta-Walters, President, American Board of Counseling Psychology

 

Professor of Counseling, The George Washington University (syl@gwu.edu).

Follow ABPP on Facebook